Who’s moving on to the November ballot?

Clinton-County-GovernmentMay 21, 2019, marked the date of the municipal primary election and the special election for the 12th Congressional District. Those who received a majority of votes from their respective party in the municipal primary will move on to the November election. However, the individual who received the most votes in the special election will become our next representative in the House of Representatives in Washington D.C.

Here’s a quick rundown of how Democrats fared in the election and a recap of who will be moving on to the November 5 Election.

12th Congressional District

Republican Fred Keller won the Special Election for the 12th Congressional District with 89,176 votes, overcoming Democratic nominee Marc Friedenberg, who received 41,794 votes. Keller will become the next U.S. Congressman for the 15-county region, replacing Republican Tom Marino who resigned in January.

You can watch Friedenberg’s concession speech here, or read his post-election message below:

First, I have to say thank you.

I’ve been inspired and honored by the support I’ve received over the past 5 months. It was truly humbling to see how this community rallied around our campaign and believed in our shared mission and values.

I’ve met so many wonderful friends and neighbors and held so many important conversations these past months, that I know our district will continue to fight for a better future.

While we didn’t win this race, the people here in Pennsylvania’s 12th District have proven again and again that they are fed up with the status quo and ready for more.

I will be hard at work supporting Democrats right here in Pennsylvania and across the country to ensure that we’re able to win big in 2020, expand our control of the House and take back the Senate and White House.

The first-time volunteers we trained and the amazing campaign tools we developed will help future campaigns, ensuring that our grassroots movement continues to thrive.

Thank you again for your investment in this campaign and your support. I’m excited to see what’s next and I look forward to fighting alongside Pennsylvania Democrats in the following months for a more progressive future for America.

All my best,
— Marc

PA Superior Court

Three Democrats were vying for two open seats on Pennsylvania’s Superior Court, but voters were only be able to vote for two.

As of 9 a.m. on May 23, with 99.45% of the votes tabulated, Amanda Green-Hawkins and Daniel McCaffery received a majority of votes statewide, with 473,525 votes cast for Green-Hawkins and 403,812 cast for McCaffery. Beth Tarasi received 372,781 votes.

In Clinton County, the two women were the top vote getters, with Tarasi receiving 1,413; Green-Hawkins taking in 1,182; and McCaffery getting 917.

County Commissioner

Incumbent Paul Conklin and Angela Harding were the two Democrats running for commissioner. Since voters were able to choose two, they’ll both be moving on to the November ballot. Two Republicans will also move on to the November ballot, and voters will be able to vote for three of four candidates on the ballot.

County Sheriff

Kerry Stover is seeking another 4-year term as county sheriff and is running unopposed.

County Auditors

Incumbent Michelle Crowell will move on to November without having faced an opponent in the primary. Crowell and two Republicans will move on to the November ballot; three seats are up for election.

District Attorney

Dave Strouse is seeking another four-year term as district attorney. He is unopposed.

County Prothonotary

Incumbent Marie Vilello is seeking another term as county prothonotary. She was unopposed in the primary, but will have a Republican challenger in November.


Every precinct in Clinton County has seats up for election this year (including city council, township supervisors, borough council and municipal auditors).

For details on the various other municipal elections, see results by precinct here.

School Board

Wayne Koch received both the Democratic and Republican nominations to continue in his role as Keystone Central School District’s Region I School Board Director, representing Green, Logan and Porter Townships and Loganton Borough.

Democrat Elisabeth Lynch received both the Democratic and Republican nominations to become Keystone Central School District’s Region II School Board Director, representing Lamar Township and Mill Hall Borough. This is a 2-year term.

Boise Miller received both the Democratic and Republican nominations to continue in his role as Keystone Central School District’s Region VIII School Board Director, representing Castanea and Bald Eagle Townships and Flemington Borough.

Republican Jeff Johnston won both the Democratic and Republican nominations against incumbent Debra Smith, also a Republican, to become the Keystone Central School Board Region IV School Board Director, representing Dunnstable, Wayne and Pine Creek II Townships.

See candidate announcements and bios here

Note: The Clinton County Democratic Committee does not endorse candidates, but makes every effort to help evenhandedly publicize individuals seeking the Democratic nomination or running on the Democratic ticket. We embrace the will of the people following the Primary Election and wholeheartedly support the nominees selected in the election process.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s