Harding becomes first woman on commissioner board; Long wins City Mayor race

Clinton-County-GovernmentThe Municipal Election held on Tuesday, November 5, saw many local offices up for grabs in Clinton County. While some individuals ran unopposed, there were a handful of seats that were contentious up until the last votes were tallied.

By the end of the night, it was clear there were changes in store for Clinton County, as well as the City of Lock Haven.

The three most anticipated contests included those for commissioner and prothonotary at the county level and the race for Lock Haven mayor at the municipal level.

In the race for commissioner, there were four candidates – two Democrats and two Republicans. Voters could vote for two, but only the top three would be elected to serve.

Democrat Angela Harding became the first female elected to the county board of commissioners, according to reports, after receiving 3,134 votes (or 19.45% of total votes cast). She will join Republicans Miles Kessinger (4,351 votes) and Jeff Snyder (3,926 votes), incumbent, in January 2020 to form the new board.

“Very, very few accomplishments are ever achieved alone. I am forever grateful and thankful for every single person’s role in my success. I will be spending the next 4 years fulfilling my promise to work tirelessly for the betterment and future of Clinton County,” said Harding.

Democrat Paul Conklin (3,049 votes) will serve out the remainder of his first term. There were 50 write-in votes for commissioner.

“Despite … results not being what I wished, I want to thank my family, friends, supporters and all of the Clinton County voters that voted for me. I want to extend my congratulations to fellow Democrat Angela Harding, as well as Miles Kessinger and Jeff Snyder. I have thoroughly enjoyed dedicating my term to serving the citizens of Clinton County. I will work to assist the new board of Commissioners in a smooth transition and know that the future is bright for our county! Thank you for allowing me to represent you for the past four years!” said Conklin.

Incumbent Prothonotary Marie Vilello, a Democrat, earned 3,721 votes to Republican opponent Cindy Love’s 4,217 votes. There were seven write-in votes.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who came out to vote!! Thank you to my family, friends and supporters who stayed by my side this last year throughout my campaign for Prothonotary. Although I am sad to be leaving my Courthouse family, I am excited to see what adventures await me!!” Vilello said following the election.

In the contested race for Lock Haven mayor, longtime public servant Joel Long, a Democrat, was challenged by Republican Jeff Brinker. After votes from all five wards were tallied, Long garnered 629 votes to Brinker’s 588 votes. There were 13 write-in votes.

“I’m both grateful and honored to be elected Mayor of Lock Haven. I want to thank all those who helped and supported me. Especially my wife and kids. I couldn’t have done it without you all. I’d also like to thank Jeff Brinker for running a great race. I look forward to serving as Mayor of the greatest city there is,” said Long.

Incumbent Clinton County Sheriff Kerry Stover, a Democrat, ran unopposed. He garnered 7,561 votes. There were 47 write-in votes.

“I do not take [being] unopposed for granted at all. I will continue things I have started and strive to achieve more goals I’ve set for the office,” Stover said early on election day.

Incumbent Auditor Michelle Crowell, a Democrat, earned 3,627 votes, ultimately retaining her seat. She and two Republicans sought three open seats and therefore were unopposed in their efforts. There were 33 write-in votes for auditor.

Incumbent District Attorney Dave Strouse, a Democrat, ran unopposed. He earned 5,822 votes. There were 90 write-in votes.

“My family and I greatly appreciate the support of our friends and neighbors across Clinton County. Thank you for entrusting me with the Office of District Attorney for another four years,” said Strouse on election day.

Incumbent Register & Recorder Jennifer Hoy, a Republican, ran unopposed. She received 6,681 votes. There were 42 write-in votes.

In the contest for Lock Haven City Council, there were three open seats and only two names on the ballot: William Mincer, a Democrat, and Doug Byerly, a Republican. Mincer earned 781 votes, and Byerly received 732 votes. There were 176 write-in votes, which will determine who takes the third open seat available on Council.

“I am incredibly grateful and humbled to have been elected to Lock Haven City Council. I will do my best to continue to serve the city with everything I have. Thank you Lock Haven,” Mincer said.

In races for Keystone Central School Board:

  • Region I: Incumbent Wayne Koch, a Democrat, received 689 votes to retain his seat. There were 126 write-in votes.
  • Region II: Elisabeth Lynch, a Democrat who won nomination by both the Republican and Democratic parties in the Primary, was unopposed. She received 754 votes. There were 19 write-in votes.
  • Region III: No candidate filed. There were 146 write-in votes.
  • Region IV: Jeff Johnston, a Republican who won nomination by both the Republican and Democratic parties in the Primary, was unopposed. He received 1,040 votes. There were 19 write-in votes.
  • Region VI: Randy Strouse, a Republican, received 360 votes. There were three write-in votes.
  • Region VIII: Boise Miller, a Democrat, received 936 votes. There were four write-in votes.

To see results for your municipality, click here!


In the Pennsylvania Superior Court race, two Democrats faced off against two Republican nominees for two open seats on the court.

Daniel McCaffery, a Democrat, was the frontrunner and received 1,267,065 votes statewide (25.84% of votes).

However, Democrat Amanda Green-Hawkins and Republican Megan McCarthy King came within a half-percentage margin, which will force a recount in the contest. According to state election returns, Green-Hawkins earned 1,229,201 votes (or 25.07%) to McCarthy King’s 1,246,154 (25.42%).

Update as of 11/18/19: Green-Hawkins conceded the race before the recount was completed.

Christylee Peck, a Republican, garnered the least amount of votes with 1,160,672 (or 23.67%).

In addition, two PA Superior Court judges were up for retention. Anne Lazarus, a Democrat, and Judy Olson, a Republican, both earned retention with over 74% of respondents voting yes to retain.

On the Commonwealth Court, two Republicans were up for retention as well. Both Kevin Brobson and Patricia McCullough were retained with each receiving affirmation by over 71% of voters.

Lastly, voters were tasked with deciding on a proposed constitutional amendment for Crime Victim Rights, a.k.a. Marsy’s Law. Voting to approve the measure were 1,760,011 Pennsylvanians (73.99%); voting against it were 618,668 (26.01%).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s